I told you I’m an addict!

Well, I’ve done it again.

I went couponing today.  I had to go to the store to get some things, but I used a ton of coupons on a bunch of other things too.  The rule I read when starting to learn to coupon was to forget everything you knew about shopping, because you’ll have to change the way you do it.  You change how and when you shop, along with what you shop for.  You no longer shop for what you want to cook, you cook with what you have shopped for (for free or really cheap!).  And so far, that’s worked for me.  I’ve realized we don’t need what we’ve always had.  New stuff can be fun too.  And we haven’t gone without or even started missing anything – not yet anyway.

Not only did I change what I’m shopping for for us to eat, I’m also changing what the dog eats.  He is an English bulldog that eats absolutely everything in site.  Nothing hurts his stomach.  I’ve said many times I’m surprised he hasn’t died after what he’s eaten.  Including full-size kid footballs – whole.  Without choking.  So I don’t think changing up his food will do much to him.  But we usually pay about $13 for a bag of his food – Pedigree something.  Or maybe Purina something.  I don’t remember.  Instead, I got three bags of Purina Beneful from Target today (priced normally at $5.49 for a 3.5lb bag).  I had $4.50 off coupons for each one.  (Well Target $2 coupons and $2.50 manufacturer coupons which equal $4.50 off a bag.)  So I paid $0.99.  For 3 bags.  I paid $2.97 for what I usually pay $13 for.  Not bad.  Not bad at all.

I got all of this for $25.44.  Included was:

3 bags of Purina Beneful dog food

2 Activia yogurt 4-packs

8 Yo-Crunch yogurts

1 Philadelphia Indulgence white chocolate yummy thing I can’t wait to try

1 KY jelly (I got paid to take this out of the store!)

1 Vaseline lotion (I got paid to take this out of the store too!)

24 Breathe Right strips 2-count

1 Starkist tuna pouch

2 Glade air expressions

1 Starbucks coffee – Caramel – yum 🙂

4 Colgate toothpastes

4 Olay soap 2-packs

3 Eggo waffle breakfast boxes

3 Country Crock butters

2 Philadelphia cooking creams

1 Kotex U pack

1 pack of soup

I don’t think that’s too bad for $25.44!  Not when I’m new to the couponing game!  But after only a few weeks of doing this, I’ve noticed I’ve only spent half of what I usually spend a week – over the span of 3 weeks now!  It’s an incredible amount of savings.  I’m so happy I’m taking the time to do this.  It really is making a HUGE difference in the amount of money I spend!  And now I’m actually paying attention to what things cost (when before I was just buying!) and I don’t want to pay full price for a lot of things anymore!  This is the first time in my life I’ve been happy to save money!

It’s an incredible feeling knowing I’m not blowing money at the store anymore.  I don’t feel bad leaving the store anymore either!  I used to walk out and be like “Oh crap!  How on earth did I spend that much money?!”  Now I walk out and I’m like “Damn!  How on earth did I save that much money?!” or “How did I walk out with all this stuff and only spend that amount of money?!”

It really is a good feeling 🙂  – I told you I’m an addict!

That’s what coupons are made for – so take advantage!

Leave a Reply

